Anima Pants

It’s been a while! I guess that’s the great thing about blogging as a hobby versus a job. If life gets busy, or I just don’t feel like posting, I don’t have to! I do have several pieces to share with you over the next week, so maybe I’m just a binge blogger. I disappear for a month and then inundate your reader with lots of posts. Sorry!

Anyway, I started June with Back to Basics week, but I ended up having no time to sew that week, and I think I am the slowest sewist of all time, so I extended it into Back to Basics month for myself. I only made a camisole (self-drafted), tank top (modified Renfrew with gathers at the neckline), and Anima Pants (all shown below). I know a lot of sewists could get that list done in a day, but hey, that’s my pace. I need to learn to accept that and stop comparing myself to others. Oh, and a bikini. I almost forgot about that one! That’s coming in the next post.

Onto the Anima Pants! These are seriously the coziest, comfiest pants I have ever worn. I am quickly becoming a Papercut addict.

anima pants papercut patterns

Pattern: Anima Pants by Papercut Patterns
Fabric: 100% organic cotton interlock
Size: XXS (true to size)
Modifications: none

I used a fairly thick cotton interlock with no stretch, and I’m happy with how they fit. The only problem is that the butt gets a bit baggy after wear because I used fabric with no recovery.

anima pants papercut patterns

anima pants papercut patterns

Not much else to say about these pants except that they are going to get worn a lot! I’m just not sure about the whole track pants as fashion thing. I will wear these around the house for sure, and most likely to go for a walk or do yoga, but probably not to the store. How do you feel about track pants beyond their activewear/loungewear purpose?

I still had fun styling them for the competition, though! It was like playing dress-up in my own closet. I can definitely see myself wearing them with a slouchy sweater or throwing on a scarf or hand-knit cowl or shawl to walk to yoga. I tried to keep it realistic to my life. I don’t wear heels with dresses, so I’m not about to wear them with track pants!

(Yes, those are my handmade shoes that now look about 10 years old, and no, I still haven’t fixed the soles or tried to clean them, but I can’t stop wearing them – they’re so comfy! Now I’m thinking maybe I should have put on nicer shoes for the photos. Oh well!)

anima pants papercut patterns

anima pants papercut patterns

 

6 thoughts on “Anima Pants

  1. Katie

    Love these — they look so comfy!! How is the length? They look like they might be a little on the long side for short little me 😊

    Reply
    1. Chantal Post author

      They are so insanely comfy! I think the length is perfect on me, but I’m 5’7″, and I like that my ankles are still covered when I bend my knees, so you might need to adjust them.

      Reply
  2. Carolyn

    These pants look so cute and comfortable, and I love all your styling photos! I’m glad to hear the sizing worked out so well for you. I’m with you though – I don’t think I could wear these as regular pants, to work, etc. But who knows? I’m slow to catch on to trends, so maybe I’ll change my mind later? 🙂

    Reply
    1. Chantal Post author

      Thanks! I really can’t see the trend catching on as far as being work-appropriate, but they are definitely work-at-home-appropriate for me 🙂

      Reply
  3. Kelly

    Super cute, especially with your hand made sweaters! I am with you in that I usually only wear pants like that around the house or to go to some kind of workout class…but I would probably wear them for a grocery store run in a pinch 😉 I can be a bit of a binge blogger too, I do try to make myself spread it out a bit but hey, like you said- it’s not a job so I can just do it when I feel like it. Oh, and I just sent you an email with some Portland stuff for your visit 🙂

    Reply
    1. Chantal Post author

      Thanks, Kelly! Yeah, people around here wear sweatpants (and often pyjama pants) to the grocery store all the time, so I’ll fit right in 😉 Thanks for the recommendations!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

