Cloud 9 with a silver lining

IMG_5618 (533x800)

Pattern: Midsummer Night’s Dream by Papercut Patterns
Fabric: 100% organic cotton – Cloud9 Palos Verdes Voile in Abalone Cove
Size: XXS
Modifications: Same as my first version, plus I lowered the back by 1″ and sewed down the ties to make double thin straps

This pattern is back again already! I’ve been wearing my first version a lot for Me-Made-May, so I decided to make a second one right away. Plus, it’s part of my Wardrobe Architect plans, so it’s practical 😉

I love the watercolour effect of this print. Pale orange and peach are not my best colours, but it’s just so pretty that I had to make a summer dress! It reminds me of my favourite dress that I had when I was three, my “bubble dress”, that had rainbow coloured bubbles all over it. This dress just makes me happy when I put it on!

I did french seams throughout because I love the clean finish, but I didn’t bother with print matching at all – I just don’t enjoy that like some people do!

Papercut patterns Midsummer Night's Dream dress

Papercut patterns Midsummer Night's Dream dress Cloud 9 Abalone Cove Papercut patterns Midsummer Night's Dream dress Papercut patterns Midsummer Night's Dream dress  Papercut patterns Midsummer Night's Dream dress

Silver Lining shrug:

Yarn: 50% wool/50% silk Handmaiden Fine Yarn Lady Godiva in Smoke
Pattern: my own
Ravelry notes here

This yarn is so soft and has a gorgeous silvery sheen with warm golden tones to it when it catches the light. The pattern turned out more-or-less how I envisioned it: a bit slouchy and casual, but still a bit dressy too. It goes with pretty much everything, so it’s the perfect topper for spring and summer dresses on cooler mornings and evenings.

IMG_5615 (533x800)

IMG_5611 (533x800)

IMG_5626 (533x800)

32 thoughts on “Cloud 9 with a silver lining

  1. Rebecca

    Both pieces are so beautiful! I really love this version of the dress- I was contemplating buying some of this fabric myself! 🙂 Looks great on you!

    Reply
  2. Jo

    This is just so lovely and suits you perfectly 🙂 I love your knitted shrug and wish I could draft one! Amazing! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Chantal Post author

      Thanks, Jo! It’s actually not that complicated – just a tube starting at one wrist, increasing up the arm, rectangle back, and down the other arm, then pick up stitches around the hole for the band – that’s it! Based on what I’ve seen you do with sweater patterns, you could definitely do it!

      Reply
  3. tomatoesandjasmine

    I love your handmade outfit- beautiful colors! I am impressed that you thought of the pattern for the shrug yourself, it is really nice!! I have a skein of precious Handmaiden which I am still looking for a pattern for- I wish I had enough to copy your shrug:-)

    Reply
    1. Chantal Post author

      Thanks! It’s actually a pretty basic shape, not at all complicated (I describe it in the Ravelry notes). Handmaiden is definitely gorgeous yarn. It ended up being my most expensive sweater ever (4 skeins!), but I think it will get worn and enjoyed a lot! I can’t wait to see what you make with yours!

      Reply
  4. Carolyn

    I love this whole outfit! I think the light colors look great on you, and they’re perfect for a warm summer day. Like others have mentioned, I’m also impressed that you came up with the shrug pattern yourself. Lots of talent happening on this blog. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Chantal Post author

      Thanks, Katy! I try to buy organic whenever possible, but there isn’t a huge selection yet. It does seem to be growing, though!

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14: outfits + reflections | A Handmade Wardrobe

  6. Pingback: For Other Peoples’ Weddings: Midsummer Night’s Dream Pattern Review | wasted weekends

  7. Nathalie

    Oh, this is so pretty! I just spotted this whilst looking at patterns made with this fabric. I bought some last year but have not yet used it because of its sheerness. Did you line the dress?

    Reply
  8. Pingback: For Other People’s Weddings, Round 2: Papercut Patterns Midsummer Night’s Dream the Second | wasted weekends

  9. Pingback: Under the Wire: A Bright Midsummer Night’s Dream | The Monthly Stitch

Leave a Reply

