Knit City 2013!

Knit City 2013

I just got back from Knit City in Vancouver, and it was so incredible! Amazing local yarn and fibre everywhere! And everyone was wearing gorgeous hand knit sweaters and shawls. So much eye candy. We were all just ogling each other, ha ha! I was there to help my friend, Sylvia, with her booth, Sheepish Grin Knit Company (she dyes all of the yarns herself in delicious colours), and it was so much fun! The only picture I have of the event is this blurry one that I took with my phone:

Sheepish Grin Knit Company at Knit City 2013

Sheepish Grin Knit Company at Knit City 2013

We went to see Stephanie Pearl-McPhee on the first night and she was hilarious. By the end of the show we had actual tears streaming down our faces from laughing so hard. Seriously, I must buy all of her books now.

And I met Tasia! I was a bit star-struck, and I’m pretty sure I sounded like a complete gushing idiot. And she was wearing an awesome new hand knit sweater! No pictures 😦

So here are the latest additions to my stash. From the looks of it, you would think I’m an avid spinner, but I’ve only taken a beginner spinning course with a drop spindle. I guess there will be more spinning in my future!

Knit City 2013

Spinning fibre: top right The Wacky Windmill, right Sweet Georgia, bottom two Muse
Skeins, from left to right: three grin deluxe by Sheepish Grin, organic Cotton dyed with indigo by Vegan Yarn, merino silk aran Sweet Georgia
Buttons and shawl pins from Pollika
Hand-spun by Spincycle (they weren’t even at the show, but we couldn’t resist stopping at a local yarn shop on our way out – yarn is more addictive than crack!)

Knit City 2013

And gourmet doughnuts to top it all off! Yum!Knit City 2013

2 thoughts on “Knit City 2013!

  1. Carolyn

    Wow! How awesome to meet both Stephanie and Tasia!! Glad you had such a great time, and looking forward to seeing what you make with all that yarn and fiber! : )

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Strata Socks | A Handmade Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

