Pyjama Party!

I can’t believe I’m posting pictures of myself in pyjamas on the internet, but I didn’t want to be left out of all the fun of Karen’s Pyjama Party! So, here they are:

sewaholic tofino pants

Pattern: Sewaholic Tofino Pants
Size: 0 (my measurements didn’t quite match the chart, but they’re pyjama pants, right?)
Fabric: Organic cotton interlock, my own design on Spoonflower, trim: turquoise organic cotton jersey from Harts Fabric

These pyjamas are by far the comfiest I’ve ever had! My old ones were getting pretty ratty, and they didn’t even stay up properly anymore, so it was definitely time for a new pair. I designed a fabric on Spoonflower for the main part of the pants with positive affirmations because, really, who doesn’t need little reminders to look on the bright side? Plus, you can only wear a fabric like this around the house, so pyjamas were a perfect use for it!

sewaholic tofino pants

A copycat picture like Tasia’s – turquoise accents and all!

The bow and piping are done in a lightweight organic jersey. I decided to do flat piping for comfort (and because it seemed easier). The two side seams are a bit bulky, but that’s probably because of the thicker fabric I used. The pattern recommends lightweight fabrics, and now I know why! I had a few problems with the thickness of the interlock, but nothing major. I trimmed the waistband pretty aggressively, so it doesn’t feel too thick, but my needle really struggled going through all those layers. I have a lot of skipped stitches, especially at the hem where the needle had to go through 9 layers of interlock plus 6 layers of jersey where the piping was. My poor needle just couldn’t handle it, and I couldn’t find any heavier ballpoint needles at the store.

sewaholic tofino pants

The pants are a bit long because when I looked at the finished measurements, it said inseam: 32″, so I thought, oh good, that’s the length I get in jeans. It didn’t occur to me that the inseam starts a bit lower on loose-fitting pants. Oops.

sewaholic tofino pants

I made a matching top out of the same turquoise jersey I used for the contrast on the pants. I decided to try Maria Denmark’s Kimono Tee since I like a looser fit around the shoulders for lounging and I was curious about the pattern. It’s super comfortable for lounging, but I don’t think it’s really my style for wearing out of the house.

Pillow fight! Thank you, Karen, for hosting the pyjama party! I’m looking forward to checking out everyone else’s creations!

19 thoughts on “Pyjama Party!

  1. Kelly

    These are really cool, and you designed the fabric yourself-awesome!! I think the top looks great on you, I just downloaded that pattern but haven’t made one yet. I like that you used organic fabrics, I try to as much as I can. Very cute and comfy looking PJ set!

    Reply
    1. Chantal Post author

      Thanks, Kelly! I try to use organic fabrics whenever possible. I just wish I could find some organic lightweight dress fabrics – they seem to be non-existent!

      Reply
  2. Jo

    Haha, your pics are so graceful and mine are so crazy and badly lit! Your pants look lovely. Tofino is a great design πŸ™‚ well done!

    Reply
    1. Chantal Post author

      Ha ha! I took the photos during the day and I still couldn’t get enough light, so I adjusted the settings on my camera, which made the photos kind of blurry… and I edited out quite a few less-than-flattering shots πŸ™‚ I love your bunny slippers!

      Reply
  3. Catherine

    Love these! so pretty and they match your decor. I wanted to order the knit from spoonflower but i was worried they would take along time to send to me in Australia.
    Great work! xo

    Reply
    1. Chantal Post author

      Thanks! I was worried about the time too (I’m in BC, Canada), but it only took a week and a half from the time they shipped it out. It would probably take a bit longer to get to Australia, though!

      Reply
  4. Danielle

    Love those, they look so comfy. The print is awesome! Turquoise was the perfect color for the accents. Are you selling the fabric print? (I would absolutely buy it!)

    Reply
    1. Chantal Post author

      Thanks, Danielle! I think I have it set so that other people can buy the fabric at the link above, but I’m new to Spoonflower, so if it doesn’t work for whatever reason, please let me know πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

