A Basic Renfrew

Not the most exciting item, but a closet staple. A basic white tee. Except this one is made of super-soft organic cotton πŸ™‚

A Simple Organic Tee

A Simple Organic Tee

A bit wrinkly in the back – I probably should have taken photos at the beginning of the day…

Fabric: 100% Organic Cotton Jersey from Dressew in Vancouver
Pattern: Renfrew by Sewaholic
Size: 6 on top, 0 at waist and hip

I added 1″ to lengthen the bodice at the waist, and chopped 2.5″ off the bottom. I’m actually really happy with the fit of the top overall. It looks exactly like the other versions I’ve seen around. For the next one, I might take in the waist by 1″ on each side for a closer fit. This fabric is quite sheer in white, so I think the looser fit works on this one.

This was actually my second attempt at the Renfrew. The first was a total disaster. I used a thermal/waffle knit and it stretched out by about 1.5 times in width! The neck is wavy and falling off my shoulders – and it’s not even comfortable! Total fail. I blame the fabric combined with my lack of knowledge about waffle knits…

renfrew mods

1″ added to bodice, 2.5″ chopped off bottom

inside view

inside view

seams

seams

I do have a serger, but I can’t figure out how to adjust the tension for knits, so I used a scalloped edge to finish the seams. I think I actually like it better than serged seams. It’s softer and kind of pretty! So what if it doesn’t look store-bought? Handmade is awesome!

Update: I used stretch stitch G in the following photo:

finishing stitch for knits

7 thoughts on “A Basic Renfrew

  1. Carolyn

    This looks fantastic!! : ) What stitch did you use for the seams? I’ve been meaning to try sewing jersey on my sewing machine (I don’t have a serger) but don’t really know how to handle it.

    Reply
    1. Chantal Post author

      Thanks! I used one of the stretch stitches on my sewing machine (stitch G in the picture below). I don’t have a fancy sewing machine, so I imagine it must be a pretty standard stitch πŸ™‚ stitch G

      Reply
      1. Carolyn

        Aha, thanks so much! My machine calls this a “stretch overlock” stitch, which sounds like exactly what I need. I’ll have to give it a shot!

  2. Pingback: MMM ’13 – Week 2 | A Handmade Wardrobe

  3. Pingback: MMM ’13 – Weeks 3 and 4 | A Handmade Wardrobe

  4. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14: outfits + reflections | A Handmade Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

