A Teal Tiramisu!

I made a dress! My first sewing project since high school, which was, well… let’s just say a while ago. I had every intention of joining the sew-along, but life got in the way, so I feel like I’ve been working on this dress for two months!

teal tiramisu dress

Fun to twirl in!

teal tiramisu dress

back of teal tiramisu dress

teal tiramisu dress

Pattern: Tiramisu Dress from Cake Patterns
Fabric:
Organic Cotton Jersey in Teal from www.hartsfabric.com
Size: 30C with modifications
Modifications:
Combined skirt pieces and back pieces to remove center seam
Cut skirt and back straight instead of on the bias
Removed 3 cm from each of the front bodice pieces to open up the neck
Removed 3 cm from each side of front and back midriff pieces
Added a waist tie

tiramisu dress modifications

3 cm off each side of front bodice pieces to open up the neck

tiramisu dress modifications

A little off the back to blend with front

tiramisu dress modifications

3 cm off the front and back midriff pieces to get a better fit in the waist

Now that I look at the list, it seems like a lot of changes for a first knit dress, but I’m happy with how it turned out. The seams are a bit wonky, so I won’t show you those ; )

My biggest challenge was trying to do the hem with a double needle. I could not for the life of me work out how to get the stitches not to skip. I googled the problem, and tried all of the suggested solutions, including tissue paper on the top, and then on the bottom, but nothing fixed the problem completely. So after spending hours picking bits of tissue paper off and ripping out the hem twice, I decided to just leave it and do a regular straight stitch hem. It’s not like it needs to stretch anyway.

Then I washed it, and the hem became completely uneven! I thought hanging it for a day would be enough to settle the dress before hemming, but I will definitely be washing all knit projects before hemming in the future – lesson learned!

This fabric is so deliciously soft – I want to make an entire wardrobe out of this stuff!

 

12 thoughts on “A Teal Tiramisu!

  1. Sylvia9000

    You’re sew talented! Looks great on you and makes me want to excavate my machine from the depths of my studio… Probably won’t though. Nice work, friend.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: A Cozy Maxi Skirt | A Handmade Wardrobe

  3. Carolyn

    Wow, love it!! The color and fit both look great, and I love the twirling photo. : ) I also learned the hard way to pre-wash all of my fabric… oops!

    Reply
    1. Chantal Post author

      Thanks! I actually pre-washed it before cutting out the pieces, but I guess jersey needs to be washed again after sewing but before hemming. It’s crazy stuff!

      Reply
  4. Pingback: MMM ’13 – Week 2 | A Handmade Wardrobe

  5. Hana - Marmota

    It looks great! First sewing project in ages, and it looks great. Congratulations.
    And thanks for the pointers about hemming. I have yet to sew mine, so I might consider washing the dress before hemming… especially if I cut on the bias!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14: outfits + reflections | A Handmade Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

